Beans with bananas, please.

That’s right, you heard me: I eat garbanzos with bananas. Are you sufficiently grossed out or are you brave enough to give it a chance? I didn’t create this recipe (that crown goes to Katie), but it’s such a miracle that I can’t help but share it with all of you.

I am currently going through a dangerous phase of my life, in which all I think about is making dessert…and then eating it. But Katie, God bless her, has come to my rescue. Her blog is devoted to healthy desserts and I’ve already made several of her recipes, including the one below, which reminds me of Chili’s 1,600-calorie Chocolate Chip Paradise Pie given a serious health makeover. It does have some brown sugar, but you’ve gotta sweeten it somehow – it’s dessert, after all! I subbed in some stevia, but I have read that too much stevia can result in a bad flavor, so I didn’t use much. Next time I think I’ll try equal parts brown sugar, agave, and stevia.

I substituted only a few ingredients. The original recipe can be found here.

Beany Blondies 

  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 t stevia
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup ground flax
  • 2 T canola oil
  • 2 T applesauce
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used grain-sweetened – very healthy!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend all ingredients (except chips) until very smooth. Mix in chips, and scoop into a greased 8 x 8 pan. Bake for about 40 minutes.

That’s all there is to it – simple, right? Easy and quick. Blend the ingredients and let it bake while you make dinner, and you’ll have a warm treat ready after you’re done eating.

Remember the banana soft serve I was raving about? If y’all forgot, you simply throw a frozen banana in the blender and it turns into ice cream goodness. I top my warm beany blondie with a scoop of that banana bliss, chopped almonds, and shredded coconut (obviously). Perfection!

Look at this cute little guy! More tasty than cute, though.

Enjoy the gooeyness! Mmmmm...

I scream, you scream, we all scream for frozen bananas?

Yup, I liked it in all its melty glory.

You know you wanna try them now. I’ve always loved legumes, but what you’ve just witnessed is probably my most enjoyable bean experience to date. Come on, be bold! Besides, you need the fiber. Get bakin’, and I want to hear all about it!

~Becky, a skinnyfat girl

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This recipe is fantastic!
    I will definitely be writing this in my recipes!
    please stop by and say hi.
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • skinnyfatgirls

       /  June 10, 2011

      Thanks Brianna, I hope you make a batch and enjoy them as much as I do! I checked out your blog…very cool! Love your artwork – you’re very creative! Painting is on my list of things to do more often. I’ve painted a bit, but nothing spectacular. Glad you stopped by our blog, we will continue to post delicious recipes, so check back soon! :)

      Becky

      Reply
  2. Just a little tip. If you add 1/3 cup cocoa powder to this recipe, it becomes delicious brownies! I also use 1 cup raw sugar instead of the brown sugar and stevia and peanut butter instead of cashew butter. Use what you have and make it your own!

    ~Elesha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

