Priorities

After the traumatic obesity diagnosis, I vowed to make changing my body composition a major priority. Unfortunately, sometimes my human desires take over and my priorities go out the window.

Yesterday, a coworker offered me a bite-size Snickers bar, and I politely declined. I want a nice, toned body more than I want chocolate. Priorities in check.

This morning, my alarm went off at 5 a.m. sharp. I got up right away, pulled on my running shoes, and went down to the track as planned, right? Wrong. It seems my number one priority at 5:00 this morning was – you guessed it – rolling over and going back to sleep. Apparently I want a nice, toned body more than I want a bite-size Snickers but NOT more than I want an extra hour and a half of sleep in the morning. Priorities out the window.

As I reset my alarm, I repeated excuses to myself (all valid, by the way): “I’m exhausted. I had a long day yesterday, and I went to sleep too late to wake up this early. Besides, it’s too cold to be running outside. I’ll just go later.”

Now that I’ve been awake for a few hours, I regret skipping my run and realize that none of my excuses were good enough to rationalize putting sleep ahead of my goals. If I choose sleeping in over running every morning, I’ll never be ready for the half marathon in October, I’ll never have the body I want, and I’ll never achieve my goals. If I continue to make excuses I’ll be a skinny fat girl forever.

The truth is, we humans are all about instant gratification. We want what we want, and we want it now! Sleeping in is so much more convenient and comfortable than getting up early to exercise. But who ever had true success without stepping out of their comfort zone? That’s exactly what it is going to take if I want to reach the goals I have set for myself. If transforming my body is truly a priority, I need to stop making excuses. If transforming my body is truly a priority, I need to be willing to work hard and step out of my comfort zone on a daily basis.

My alarm is set for 5 a.m. tomorrow. Priorities in check.

_____________________________________________________________________

Side note: In a jumprope challenge after work yesterday, I did 617 jumps in 5 minutes. My heart was pounding out of my chest and my arches were burning like the dickens, but it felt pretty great. Jumping rope is an incredible cardio workout. Y’all go get a jumprope and try to beat my record. I dare ya!

~B, a skinny fat girl

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

