Spring Break Catastrophe

Oh, blog. I’ve been avoiding you like the plague. I’ll admit it, okay? I’m overwhelmed by shame!

A week ago, my family rented a van and drove 8 hours south to visit my dad for a 3-day spring break weekend. He lives 30 minutes from the border of Mexico and about an hour away from South Padre Island, and we were all excited to go to the beach.

It was an incredible weekend, but my food choices were absolutely embarrassing. Am I the only one who puts nutrition on the back burner while on vacation? I’m so ashamed. It was a fat fest from beginning to end. Taco Bell seven-layer burrito. Flour tortillas with cheese and mushrooms. Soy hazelnut frappuccino with whipped cream. Cheetohs. Cheezits. Belgian waffle and hash browns. There you have it, my list of unforgivable sins in black and white, for all the world to see. Understand my guilt?

Believe it or not, some people can get away with eating this stuff. I’ve got a friend who went away for a weekend and ate stuffed, fried avocados, chocolate-covered bacon, and a wasabi milkshake and lost weight! How is this possible? It’s simple enough: body types. We’ve all got unique bodies that react differently to food and exercise. The problem with E and I is that our bodies are VERY unforgiving – that is, they’ll turn even the smallest bit of white flour or sugar straight to fat, no questions asked. That’s why we’re obese.

Anybody wondering about the consequences of my sinful spring break? 3 pounds of pure fat. Yup, you heard me right, I put on 3 pounds in 3 days. My pants are snug, and I look like I spread a layer of Crisco around my midsection. It’ll take me a good two or three weeks to lose those 3 pounds, but I will lose it, and then some. I think sometimes you just have to get it out of your system. I had my fun, and now it’s time to buckle down and start living right again.

I went shopping yesterday and stocked up on beans, lentils, quinoa, gluten, and an array of fresh produce. Let’s do this thing!

~B, a skinny fat girl

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wanett Carbaugh

     /  May 29, 2011

    You sound a lot like myself, its taken years but about 10 years ago I got on this type of eating and exercise but failed so often.. it fiannly hits you that you do feel better and I can now attend weddings without ever eating the things I should not.. like the cake! that is a very hard one! but If I want a taste I stand in front of my hubby and tell him to feed me “Just one bite” then I walk away and am very happy but that was a hard one to learn.. I feel better wtihout sweets and cannot use even agave so most of my diet is the vegan and fresh! thank you for this blog to keep me encouraged! Keep it up girls and dont fear failure, just get up and going again! I bike indoors and walk outside every day, may miss a few days but I feel so much better you soon know what you have to do to keep that way! GOD BLESS!!

    Reply
  2. skinnyfatgirls

     /  May 29, 2011

    That’s wonderful! I’m glad you are so fulfilled and happy with your healthy lifestyle. Sweets are my weak spot, I can’t imagine not even having agave! I’ve got a major sweet tooth. I’ll admit, desserts are my biggest temptation, so it’s a good thing there are healthy options out there or I would be in big trouble! It’s hard for me to cut back my fruit intake, but I just can’t help myself!

    Becky

    Reply

Leave a Reply

