Waffles, German Chocolate Cake, and Indian Food…

Since my transformation into a skinny girl, my love of food has increased exponentially.  No, you didn’t read wrong, I really do love food even more than ever!   My appreciation for a cup of hot chocolate, a slice of perfect avocado, a scoop of ice cream, has increased!  Before this life change, I was afraid of food, but addicted to it.  I would deprive myself from everything I wanted, be scared to go out with friends, and then, in one moment, I would lose control and go crazy.  I finally got a grip.  

One big part of my new routine is listening to my body, I mean really paying attention.  If I’m hungry, I eat.  If I’m not, I don’t.  If I’m eating and my body feels satisfied, I stop.  It’s so empowering.  Something that is really important to me now, is real food.  What I mean by real, is food that I understand all the ingredients in it.  Food that is minimally processed, organic, if possible, and mostly home-prepared.  If I really, really want something, I will have it, but if it’s something I shouldn’t eat much of, I won’t eat much of it.  The crazy thing is, the more you start eating whole, real, and pure foods the less appetizing the other foods seem.  I’ll tell you one thing, I HATE soda now.  I actually detest it.  I cannot stand how sweet it is, it makes me want to gag.  I don’t like milk chocolate anymore; dark chocolate is just so much richer and much more decadent to me now.  I like whole wheat better too.  It’s crazy how much better health is!  So, to demonstrate how delicious health can be, let me show you some of the delicacies I have whipped up this past week.

EXHIBIT A:   A 100% whole wheat waffle topped with flax seed peanut butter, fresh strawberries, fresh whipped cream, and agave nectar; a perfect hot chocolate espresso made with unsweetened dark baking chocolate (not powder), a small amount of raw sugar, espresso, and a tiny bit of organic half-and-half creamer; and to wash it down the drink is a splash of 100% cranberry pomegranate juice with sparkling mineral water. 

EXHIBIT B:  My first attempt at Indian cuisine:  Vegetable Tandoori Masala with zucchini, yellow squash, broccoli, bell peppers, garbanzos, and gluten; brown rice made with Indian spices; and homemade 100% whole wheat naan.  Not too shabby, if I do say so myself.

EXHIBIT C:  The best German Chocolate Cake I’ve ever had and it’s vegan!  I made it with oat flour (100% rolled oats blended into powder) and raw sugar.  There is not one tiny bit of white flour or powdered sugar anywhere!  I made the frosting with pure whipped honey, caramel agave nectar (awesome product!), soy milk, Smart Balance, and organic shredded coconut.  I still can’t believe how perfect and moist this cake was!  In my dear hubby’s words “It tastes just as unhealthy.”

This week I also took a stab at Greek food – homemade 100% whole wheat pita, homemade hummus, and a vegetable and gluten medley made with Greek yogurt and other yummy seasonings.  It was fantastic and was consumed by me and my hubby before I could snap any pictures.  Oh, well, there’s always next time.

~E, a skinnyfat girl

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. inlovewithfood707

     /  May 27, 2011

    I just read this and it is ridiculous. Skinny fat girls huh? Post a picture and I’ll post a pic and we’ll talk about being fat. some people have glandular problems.

    Reply
    • skinnyfatgirls

       /  May 27, 2011

      This is my little brother, folks. He’s a complete moron, but I love him dearly.

      Reply
  2. Kristin Horne

     /  May 27, 2011

    I’m starting to eat primarily unprocessed, organic foods as well. Just barely starting, but I love it so far! Jason is still adjusting. He isn’t used to eating whole wheat but I’ve finally gotten him to like whole wheat pasta at least. I feel so much better after I eat and I don’t get really sleepy right after a meal. We just got a Trader Joe’s (cheap organic/health food store) about 10 minutes away from our house and I LOVE going there.

    Reply
    • skinnyfatgirls

       /  May 27, 2011

      Hey Kristin! It’s Becky…so jealous about your Trader Joe’s so close by! I’ve never been to one, but I’ve heard only good things. I’m dying to go to Whole Foods, but it’s a little over a half hour away and I just haven’t had the time to get out there yet. Maybe Elesha and I will go together and blog about it. 🙂 Glad to hear you’re making healthy choices! Awesomeness.

      Reply
      • skinnyfatgirls

         /  May 27, 2011

        Ditto Becky’s comment. 🙂 – Elesha

  3. tabs

     /  May 29, 2011

    I for one can vouch for the German Chocolate cake as well.
    To say that it was utterly divine would be an understatement in the most preposterous proportions. It’s hard for me right now to eat very healthy since it’s more the eating than the cooking I enjoy (not to mention the lack of talent in the kitchen; seriously it’s the most dangerous place for me)
    but I have to say i utterly enjoy testing the endless experiments of vegan food that frequently goes on right next door that it might possibly have me running back to my kitchen to learn to fix it myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

