My New Obsession

Happy Sunday! My plans for a lazy, relaxing Sunday have flown out the window, never to be seen again, but I’m enjoying the day, nonetheless. I spent a few hours running errands with mi madre earlier – Starbucks, carwash, grocery shopping. I’ve been cooking and cleaning since I got back home, so I figure I’m due for a little break.

I’ve got a nice plate of asparagus to snack on and leftover chimichurri sauce to dip it into. Scrumptuosity. Asparagus is SO tasty, healthy, and easy to make! Coat them with a little olive oil, sprinkle with fresh lime juice and salt, pop those babies in the oven on a cookie sheet for 15 – 20 minutes, and you’re good to go. Mmm mmm good!


Yes, I realize that the blob of green sludge doesn’t exactly look appetizing, but it tastes delicious. And anyway, this post is not about chimichurri (if it were, I would have found a way to make it look beautiful), its about…drumroll please…

Overnight Oats. A favorite topic with healthy foodie bloggers (especially Angela at www.ohsheglows.com, who has a bajillion overnight oats recipes), I decided I had to try them for myself to see what all the fuss was about. Oats make oatmeal. Plain, old, boring oatmeal. I mean, they’re just oats,right?

Oh, but friend, they’re so much more than just oats – they’re overnight oats. Overnight oats have mounds of delicious ingredients. They’re fancy and fabulous and could never, ever be boring, no matter how hard they tried. Overnight oats are so darn good that it’s sometimes hard for me to sleep at night when I know I’ll get to eat them in the morning. The real kicker – and you wouldn’t believe it by looking at them – is that they’re actually healthy! This giant-ice-cream-sundae-looking delicacy is good for you and a power breakfast that will fuel your whole day!

So now you’re undoubtedly wondering what they are and how to make them. Let me show ya. I used one of the recipes from www.ohsheglows.com for my first batch, but I tweaked it a little bit for my taste and added some extras after that.

Overnight Oats

Mix the following ingredients and put in the refrigerator overnight: 

1/3 cup rolled oats
2/3 cup  soy milk
Heaping scoop protein powder
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. stevia (or liquid sweetener)

By morning the oats will have absorbed a lot of the milk, so they will be thicker. The oats will be just one layer of your delicious breakfast parfait. For the other layers, I used these ingredients:


An important part of the deliciousness of your overnight oats parfait experience is banana soft serve. I don’t know how I never knew about this before, as I’ve frozen many a banana, but it definitely has changed my life. Just blend up a frozen banana and it basically becomes ice cream. There’s another layer.

This banana could actually use a tiny bit more blending, but you get the idea…

Layer number three is probably my favorite of all. Whisk the following ingredients together:

1 T peanut butter
1 T soy milk
1 tsp. cocoa
1 tsp. agave nectar

Voila! Chocolate peanut butter sauce! I just kinda make up those measurements in my head just now, because I didn’t actually measure them out when I made it. Play around with it; you may like it sweeter, thicker, or peanut buttery-er. That’s the beauty of overnight oats. They’re customizable. There are countless options and variations. There’s no one way….okay, okay, back to the recipe.

After that, the other layers are whatever you happen to have lying around. I had strawberries, so I chopped those up and – BOOM- another glorious layer of parfait heaven. I slivered some almonds and threw those on there. Don’t forget shredded coconut! Elesha gave me a couple bags of organic shredded coconut and now I am a COMPLETE addict. I’m putting it on everything: overnight oats, smoothies, banana soft serve, lentils…you get the picture (okay, maybe not on my lentils).

My first overnight oat parfait wasn’t so fancy – I hadn’t experimented with the chocolate peanut butter sauce yet. I stuck to the basics, but it was definitely still yum. Yum enough that I had to make it again the next morning. And the next. And the next. The third day I made two – one for me and one for the hubs.

Overnight Oat Parfait #1

OOP #2. As you can see, this one got a lot fancier.

6:45 am: OOP #2 and I watch the sunrise together.

Twin OOPs on day 3. These had an additional goody: blackberries!

Can you see why I’m so giddy about this? Those look straight up like ice cream sundaes, don’t they?? But they’re good for you – you’re getting healthy carbs (oats, fruit), protein (oats, milk, protein powder, nuts), fat (nuts), and fresh fruit all in one delicious and beautiful package. Breakfast just got so much better. I’m sold.

I just stocked up on groceries and can’t wait to try out blueberries, cherries, and cashew butter sauce in my next parfait. I’ll bet you have some delicious toppings sitting in your fridge and cabinet right now. So what are you waiting for? Go whip up some overnight oats and let me know how you like ’em! Go!

~Becky, a hooked-on-oats skinnyfat girl

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. That parfait looks amazing! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

