Going piggy, skinnyfat style…

So I started this morning with a mission in mind.  I was out of bed, eyes half shut, stumbling into my kitchen.  I pulled out my food processor, garbanzos, zucchini, and corn husks.  Sleepily, I drained the garbanzos and dumped them into the food processor and ground them up. After pouring them into my bright red mixing bowl, I chopped up the zucchini and ground them up in the food processor and then the real process began.  It is now 2:00 in the afternoon and my entire day has been spent in the kitchen, all so I can give to you, my very own….

Skinny Piggies in a Blanket!!!

The Piggies

  • ½ can drained garbanzos (or beans of your choice) ground in a blender or food processor
  • 1 zucchini ground in a blender or food processor
  • 1 cup vital gluten flour (I buy mine in bulk from Amazon because I use it so much)
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon favorite general seasoning (I use Adobo)
  • 2 tablespoons teriyaki or soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder       

Mix all ingredients together and form into sausages. 

For my first batch I wrapped my sausages in corn husks and tied the edges with tooth floss.  While this looks really cool…

…it turned out to be totally unnecessary.    After all this I had to take an OOP (Overnight Oats Parfait) break, which are just as amazing as Becky described.

After you form all your batter into sausages, bake them at 400 degrees on your oiled cookie sheet (or pizza pan, in my case) for about 20-30 minutes.  The sausages should be cooked all the way through before you remove them from the oven. 

The Blanket

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter (or your favorite substitute.  I personally have started using Land Lakes butter because it only had three ingredients as opposed to Smart Balance’s fifty)
  • ¾ cup milk (any substitute is fine, as long as it’s not super sweet)

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until you have a firm, but pliable dough. 

Putting It All Together

Roll portions of dough into long noodles.  Cut a piece of cheese and put it on top of your piggy and then wind the dough around. 

Once you’ve put them all together, bake at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes until dough is cooked.

All that’s left is for you to enjoy them!  Yum!

Check out all that joy I have to look forward to in the next couple days.

 ~Elesha, a “piggy” skinnyfat girl

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

