Simple Seitan

Howdy, bloggerinos!

My Sundays are normally extremely productive; I do all of the laundry and housecleaning (including mopping…YUCK), as well as cook everything in preparation for the week. However, today has been the most unproductive Sunday I’ve had in a long time: over the past few hours I’ve watched a documentary, an indie film, Masterchef, and Top Chef Masters…back-to-back! I haven’t fried my brain this much in years! I did , however, go running this morning. That excuses my slothfulness, right?

My lack of activity today is due mostly to an exhausting week. I didn’t do anything monumentous, but oh heck, did I cook my little heart out! Check out vegan yumyum for some crazy good recipes. The Avocado Wasabi salad is incredible….and I didn’t have avocado or wasabi. Her recipe for tofu glaze is insanely tasty – best tofu I’ve ever made. The tofu bar has officially been raised. I’ll post about it when I buy more tofu and take some pictures. I actually have lots of pictures of some of the other stuff I made this week, including sun-dried tomato-stuffed mushrooms and the YUMMIEST granola ever, but they’ll just have to wait.

Today, I thought I’d follow through on a promise made in a previous post and share my basic Seitan recipe. The pronunciation for Seitan, as I’ve read and been told in a legitimate vegan restaurant, is ‘say-tan’, but that sounds too much like Satan to me, so I call it ‘see-tan’ instead. I don’t want to scare off innocent bystanders who think I’ve said something like “Satan is wonderful!” and be labeled a devil-worshipper or some nonsense. Say it however you like, or make it easy on yourself and just call it wheat meat or gluten meat. Whatever you call it, here’s how to make it.

Simple Seitan Cutlets

Vegetable broth, enough to completely cover all cutlets (7+ cups)
2 1/2 cups gluten flour
1/4 cup garbanzo flour
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup Bragg’s liquid aminos (or soy sauce, but it’s very high sodium)
3 cloves garlic, crushed
2 T olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix gluten flour, garbanzo flour, and nutritional yeast in a bowl.

Vital Wheat Gluten. You can find this at most health food stores. I buy mine in bulk.

I used to only use vital wheat gluten flour when making Seitan, but just a quarter cup of garbanzo flour will reduce the rubberiness of the gluten and add a meatier texture.

Nutritional yeast, a.k.a "nooch", is also available in bulk at health food stores. Nooch is da cheesy bees knees...but also vegan.

Combine water, aminos, garlic, and olive oil in another bowl, mix thoroughly, and pour over the flour mixture.

We usually buy the giant bottle of Liquid Aminos, because it's just that good. That, there next to him, is his good friend, Olive Oil.

Knead until you have an ugly, lumpy ball. If the dough seems too dry, add more water. Seitan is not picky, in fact, it’s hard to mess it up.

Form the ball into a log and cut into 1-inch cutlets.

Place cutlets in a baking dish (or 2 in my case), and cover completely with vegetable broth.

Ready to be popped into the oven. I threw some stray chopped onions in there for kicks.

Bake for about 45 minutes, flip cutlets over, and bake for another 45 – 60 minutes. Let cool and refrigerate, in broth, for up to 10 days (though I don’t know how they could possibly last that long!).

No, they're not very pretty, but they taste GREAT!

Not too difficult, right? Grill cutlets in a tiny bit of olive oil to serve plain, or grill them in 2 teaspoons of canola oil for a less healthy, but very tasty crispy version (as a treat, maybe). You can use seitan as a meat subsitute in practially any recipe, but especially in place of chicken. My favorite way to eat it is cut into fajita strips, grilled with onions and bell pepper, and served in corn tortillas with guacamole and salsa. Perfecto.

Hope y’all enjoy your wheat meat!

~Becky, a vital skinnyfat girl

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

