Stuffed Zucchini

Sounds tasty, right?  Well, it is and it’s what I had for lunch this afternoon.  Now, I can’t take credit for the idea, because one of my best friends, Kristin, was kind enough to send me the recipe.  I didn’t follow it too closely (I’m really bad about following recipes exactly as they are written, even when it’s in my best interest), but I would not have come up with the idea on my own.  I am now going to give you my version of it so you can all enjoy them as much as I did.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 large zucchini
  • 1/4 chopped onion (I used red)
  • 1/4 cup diced tomatoes (I used fire roasted canned tomatoes)
  • 1 cup brown rice cooked (you will start out with 1/2 cup dry rice)
  • 1/4 cup gluten powder
  • 2 tablespoon ground flax seed
  • 1 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 2 pinches of ground red pepper (pizza peppers)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon salt or seasoned salt (I used Adobo)
  • Feta cheese (eliminate for vegan version)

First cook the brown rice.  I put ½ cup dried brown rice in a pan with 1 cup of water, about a tablespoon of canola oil, and a little bit of salt and brought it to a boil at medium heat.   Once some of the water evaporated down a bit, I turned the heat down to low and covered the pan.  The rice should be pretty soft for this recipe.

While the rice was cooking, I cut the zucchini lengthwise and scooped out the centers.

Row, row, row your … Wait!  Don’t throw out the excess zucchini!  Waste not, want not, right?  Chop it up until it’s nice and mushy and set aside to use in the filling.  You can go ahead and chop your onion now.  Hopefully by now, the rice is done cooking. 

Now you’re going to mix everything except for the feta cheese and the zucchini boats together in a skillet at medium heat until it thickens up. 

This should only take a few minutes, so now you’re ready to put the mixture into the zucchini boats.

Pretty, right?  Now all you have to do is sprinkle the feta cheese on top and bake at 375 for about 30 minutes until the zucchini softens and the filling is slightly crisp on top.   

They are so delicious!

My little sister stopped by for sample.

I wonder why she loves coming over to my house so much?

 ~Elesha, a skinnyfat girl

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. This looks delicious! I was looking for a recipe to whip up tonight… this could be the winner.

    Reply
  2. janice

     /  June 30, 2011

    I happen to have some made ahead brown rice and some zucchini in my fridge I did not know I would be making this recipe! Just wondering if I could use a little flour or corn starch for thickener I dont have gluten?

    Reply
    • skinnyfatgirls

       /  June 30, 2011

      Yay! Don’t you love it when it works out that way? I think a little flour would work just fine. It really doesn’t need to thicken up that much, so you may not even need the corn starch. Let me know how it works out for you and if you added an extra twist that made them even better, share! Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  3. Thanks. I made it with keenwah. It was great!

    Reply
    • skinnyfatgirls

       /  July 1, 2011

      You’re welcome! That was a good idea! I’ll have to try it that way too sometime. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

