The Marvelous Chickpea

Over the past few months, I’ve developed a rather serious crush on the Garbanzo. Every time I think about it I get butterflies in my stomach and my heart skips a beat. Silly, I know, but it can do everything! He’s my superbean! *swoon*

Come to think of it, almost half of the recipes we’ve shared with you contain this miracle of a bean in one form or another. Pigs-in-a-Blanket, Beany Blondies, Elesha’s Triple Punch BiscuitsSimple Seitan even uses garbanzo flour! Endlessly versatile, this legume of legends seems to enhance recipes of every kind, and I’m about to share another. If you’ve grown tired of all the garbanzo blabber, I give you permission to disregard all future chickpea recipes so long as you give this one a chance. You simply MUST.

Unlike the beany blondies, which you’d never guess contain beans upon first taste, the chickpea makes his presence known in this salad quite significantly…TWICE. That’s right, I’m offering you a garbanzo double whammy, the ultimate recipe tribute to chickpeas. Here you’ll see him in hummus form and glazed. I hope I’ve got your attention.

This is not the first time I’ve mentioned Vegan YumYum and it certainly won’t be my last. Every recipe of hers that I’ve made has been a smash hit, and this is no exception. You can see the original here. I followed the recipe fairly closely but unfortunately didn’t have one of the main ingredients on hand: wasabi powder. You simply can’t know how that grieves me, because given how delicious the salad is without it, I can only imagine that the addition of wasabi would make it the most perfect salad on this continent whole earth.

I should mention that I’ve made a lot of hummus this week. I’ve had hummus on pita bread, hummus on sandwiches, hummus on salad, hummus on various vegetable sticks, hummus on finger, hummus pretty much every way imaginable. I have hummus coming out of my ears and I still want more. I’ve been debating whether or not to share my recipe, because it’s just that good. I still haven’t decided. All I’ll say is that for this salad recipe, you’ll need some hummus. You can buy it or make it, whatever’s easier (or tastier).

Kale Salad with Chickpeas Two Ways
(Makes a lotta salad)

Dressing:
1/4 cup hummus
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 large avocado
2 tsp white vinegar
1 tsp mustard

Salad:
6 cups greens of choice (I like 4 cups kale, 2 cups spinach)
1 large carrot, shredded
1 1/2 cups broccoli, chopped small
1 tsp olive oil (for broccoli)
1/3 cup toasted slivered almonds
Glazed chickpeas (shown below)

Glazed Chickpeas:
1 tsp canola oil
1/2 can chickpeas
1 T liquid aminos (or soy sauce)
1 tsp honey (or other liquid sweetener)

1. Whiz up all dressing ingredients in the blender until smooth.


2. Toast the almonds on low heat until slightly browned and set aside.


3. Sautee broccoli in olive oil on medium heat until tender but still bright green – don’t let it get mushy! Sprinkle with salt when done and set aside.


4. Grill 1/2 can chickpeas in canola oil on medium heat until golden brown. Add the liquid aminos and honey and let simmer until it becomes a sticky glaze. Okay, I’m drooling now.


5. While chickpeas are cooking, chop the greens and shred the carrot.

6. Set aside a small portion of the glazed chickpeas, almonds, and carrot for garnishing and combine everything else. When salad is evenly coated with dressing, garnish with reserved ingredients and serve.

The hubs ate that whole plate by himself!

Besides being chock full of fiber, vitamins, healthy proteins and fats, this salad is scrumptious..King of Salads, even. Try it and see for yourself!

~Becky, a skinnyfat chickpea addict

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Eva Diana

     /  July 1, 2011

    I love chickpeas myself, and I take hummus to about every party because it is so cheap to make, and one small bowl from HEB is not enough or as good. Maybe you have the best recipe, so hand it over. I found a great recipe online, but how good is yours. I must know. Quique, and I had some good laughs over this post. I read some outloud to him. You are funny and I love you sister!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

