I take my greens with ice cream…

There are just some days where I do not feel like eating “regular” mealtime food.  Sometimes I just want to eat dessert all day long.  I’ve had about four of these days this week.  So what do I do?  Deny my cravings?  Never!  I eat these:

Now before all you have a heart attack at this seemingly nutrition deficient meal choice, let me tell you what’s in it.

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3 spoonfuls of cocoa powder
  • 1 spoonful of peanut butter
  • 1.5 cups of fresh spring mix (spinach, arugula, and lots of other healthy greens)
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup milk (I use either coconut or almond milk)

I blend all of this together in the blender.  For the topping I like to mix it up.  For the one in the picture, I topped it with whipped cream, unsweetened shredded coconut, and a crumbled brownie (all I did for the brownie was add 1/3 cup cocoa to the Beany Blondie recipe).  Other times I will top it with pineapple or strawberries, it just depends on what I want.  So there you have it, a full serving of raw leafy greens, fiber, good carbs, protein, lots of nutrients, and a very, very tiny amount of added sugar. 

This afternoon, I did feel like eating a regular meal.  I had two pieces of grilled gluten topped with muenster cheese and chimichurri sauce and sautéed veggies.  Yum! 

My sweet tooth didn’t totally stay quiet, so I had a lemon pomegranate cream “mocktail” (half a frozen banana, the tiniest drop of lemon extract, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, coconut milk blended together and topped with 100% pomegranate juice and a little bit of sparkling water). 

It made for a very wonderful meal!

Listen to yourself and think about what you are eating!  If you really want something, find a way to make it healthy and nutritious.  That’s my motto. 

By the way, you can now follow us on Facebook and Twitter .

~Elesha, a skinnyfat girl

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Nicole

     /  July 25, 2011

    What kind of blender do yall like to use? I just have the cheap oster blender, is that what I should be using to blend like the frozen bananna “ice-cream”, and the beany blondie batter? How do you keep the food from just slinging to the side of the blender when it isn’t liquid? Or do yall use food processors or hand mixers? Thanks!

    Reply
    • skinnyfatgirls

       /  July 26, 2011

      First of all, how were the blondies? Those are definitely my go-to guilt-free dessert these days. Great question about the blender. My dream is to own a Vita Mix blender someday, but even the cheapest ones are about $350! Currently I’m using an Oster blender as well…from the STONE AGE. It once belonged to my mother-in-law and we somehow ended up with it. That thing is more trouble than it’s worth. My mom recently gave me her old Black and Decker food processor and I’ve been using that for the majority of my cooking. Unfortunately, everytime I use it I see sparks inside the machine, so I think it’s going to light on fire one of these days! Still, the food processor works SO much better for almost everything except smoothies and juices. When you start putting thick, non-liquid stuff in the blender you start having that problem where it sticks to the sides and you have to keep turning it off and scooping it down…a real pain in the butt! The blender does a better job of getting things smooth, but it’s much easier to work with thicker consistencies in a food processor, like beany blondie batter and banana soft serve.

      Sorry, just realized I wrote you a book! Ha! Hope it helps. 🙂
      Becky

      Reply
  2. skinnyfatgirls

     /  July 28, 2011

    Nicole, this is Elesha :). I’ve been a little absent from skinnyfat girls since I’ve been in PR, but I wanted to let you know also that it helps to put your liquid at the bottom of the blender first before adding the banana and other stuff. I use an old blender for the frozen banana ice cream/shakes and that’s how I do it. You can always add extra liquid as you go if needed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

