Highs and Lows of a Texas Summer

So, ready for fall yet? I know it’s not just Texas that’s experiencing the most blazing hot summer in decades. No fun. I’m sick of 106. Really, really sick of it. Goodbye summer, and good riddance…I wish. Still over a month left of it, but then, oh glorious day, I’ll be able to spend time outside again! I like fresh air and Vitamin D.

On the up side, anyone else enjoying great deals on summer food lately? I got strawberries yesterday for 88 cents a carton. 88 cents! I got eight of them and froze five, so we should be pretty well strawberried for a while.

Washed and waiting for their beheading (or cap removal...tomato, tomahto).

Other super finds: peaches (47 cents a pound and eating one at this very moment, actually), red bell peppers, tomatoes, and wild caught salmon. I loooove salmon season! Fish is the only “meat” we eat, but we shy away from the farm raised stuff after many informative/scary articles and documentaries. I prefer not to eat fish that were fed chicken feathers, thanks. Anyway, I went a little crazy and spent over $30 just on salmon…but hey, this opportunity will not present itself again for another whole year! I’ve been feasting:

Friday dinner

Satuday dinner

I ate salmon for dinner on Thursday as well, but was too excited to remember to take a picture. That night we fired up the grill – best way to cook it, by far. I decided not to make any today because I figure I’m pretty well stocked up on omega-3s for the time being.

I’ve been waiting for red bell peppers to go on sale so I could spruce up my homemade hummus. Roasted red pepper hummus is mmm mmm good! I made some whole wheat pita bread to go with it.


Okay, I wanna eat that again. RIGHT NOW. Only I’ve just sufficiently stuffed myself with a second juicy peach and handful of walnuts. I guess the hummus can wait until the belly starts growling again. So probably about 45 minutes from now. ūüôā

We go through a LOT of tomatoes in this house. They haven’t quite reached strawberry status, but they’re getting there, in big part to homemade salsa. We eat the stuff like it’s goin’ out of style. Unfortunately, my most recent salsa-making didn’t turn out so well. Oh no, it’s not what you think: the salsa is delicious. I, however, am seared.

It just LOOKS innocent.

Apparently I left the end of my spoon too close to the burner. It melted, and then it melted ME.

My battle wound.

Luckily no one was home to hear me shouting four-letter words that I usually only ever say in my mind. I couldn’t help it – that hurt. Stupid dumb spoon! It’s the spoon’s fault. The things I go through for good salsa! The hubs better REALLY appreciate this batch!

OH – I also managed to finally¬†get my cabinets organized! Tupperware was threatening to take over my entire kitchen…it had to be stopped! Besides, it was at the point where find a matching container and lid was nearly impossible. Now everything is neat and easily accessible:

I wouldn't say this one is "neat", exactly, but I can find everything, okay?

Yep, I’ve been busy! So last night I took a fun, well-deserved break. The hubs is out of town, so I invited my little brother for a movie night sleepover. It was great! He found it HIGHLY amusing that everything I offered him to eat was homemade. He thinks I’m a grandmother and have no life. He’s pretty much right, but what can I say? I like¬†spending my whole day cooking and going to bed early! Although, we did stay up past 2 am and slept in until 10:30 this morning. I haven’t done that in years!

Alright, time for this girl to get some stuff done around here. Try to stay cool, folks, and beware of the spoons. They’re out to get us.

~Becky, a seared skinnyfat girl

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. AHHHH that battle wound looks painful!!! All in the name of a good meal, eh?

    Reply
    • skinnyfatgirls

       /  July 24, 2011

      Eeeeeesh, it IS painful. It blistered and peeled today. I’m sure you wanted to know that disgusting tidbit…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

