Spicy Chipotle Vegetable Soup

This will officially be my first soup recipe to post to Skinnyfat.  Why it’s taken me so long to get to it, I have no clue.  Soup is the most popular supper item at my house.  My husband absolutely loves it when I make soup.  This soup recipe he has officially declared “the bomb.com”.   I find him cute sometimes. 

Spicy Chipotle Vegetable Soup

  • 4 cups (or 1 – 32 oz. carton) vegetable stock
  • 2 cups assorted fresh vegetables, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1-2 teaspoons chipotle pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Dash of garlic powder
  • 1 – 5 oz. can organic chicken breast (optional)

The vegetables you choose to use are entirely your choice.  I like to mix it up. 

This round I used cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, spinach red potatoes, and zucchini, always zucchini.

And have I ever expressed to you my undying love for chipotle? 

If you have homemade vegetable stock, please go for it.  Made from scratch will always beat the stuff from the store.  If you are not feeling quite ambitious enough for that, that’s okay.  I used Swanson’s organic vegetable broth and the soup still turned out delish!

Combine all your ingredients and bring to a boil over medium heat and cook until vegetables are soft, stirring often.

Now it’s time to enjoy!  The husband and I like to have our soup with grilled cheese sandwiches on hearty whole grain bread with Gouda cheese. Yum!

Be sure to check out our new recipe makeover page to help us decide what recipes to make next.  We love to hear from you so leave us a comment or two!

Happy weekend all!

~Elesha, a skinnyfat girl

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Yummy! Congratulations on the first soup! It looks so good too. It’s a real shame I can’t find chipotle peppers here.

    Reply
    • No chipotle?!? I would protest. Or order online. I do think you could make this with chili pepper as well. I just have a soft spot in my heart for chipotle.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

