Mason Jar Salads

First off, because I feel it needs addressing, I have obviously failed at my new year’s resolution to post on Skinnyfat every week.  I would like to defend myself by mentioning that February is the holiday season all over for me.  First it’s hubby’s birthday, then mine the week right after.  Of course, Valentine’s Day is hardly observed at all by the time we’ve gone through birthday mode, but add that to mix even a little bit and it still makes for a very busy time.

So in penance for my absence, I knew I had to post something absolutely brilliant so I’m posting about salad.

SALAD?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Yes, salad.  Want to pump your body up with raw veggie power?  Salad is one of the great ways to go.  Add a mason jar to the mix and we’re really onto something.

Now I know you may be confused at this point, so let me clear it up for you.  If you add a mason jar to the mix your salad will stay fresh for MORE THAN A WEEK!

All I have to do now is make 5 mason jar salads on Sunday and I have lunch for the entire work week!  My mason jars have claimed their very own corner of the fridge at work.

I can’t take credit for this genius – I heard it from a friend who heard it from Skinny Girl Trapped in a Fat Girl Body.

Of course, there are probably thousands of ways you can make this salad, but I will share with you what I did.

Mason Jar Salads

  • 5 mason jars
  • 1 head lettuce
  • 1/2 head kale
  • 1/2 head collard greens
  • Grape tomatoes
  • Olives
  • Black beans
  • Parmesan cheese

Salad Dressing 1

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon of the juice leftover from the canned olives
  • 1 clove of garlic smashed
  • Dash of dried red pepper flakes
  • A pinch of salt

Salad Dressing 2

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon red wine
  • Juice from a quarter wedge of orange
  • A pinch of salt

First step is the measure out your dressing into your mason jars.  I don’t usually use a lot of dressing, so the portions I made were enough for all of my salads.  Do what’s best for you.

Because I’m not very good at following directions when it comes to recipes, I didn’t follow the advice about not letting the dressing touch the leaves.  I put the dressing and then the kale right on top of it.  They stayed fresh!

After the kale layer, I added the collard greens and lettuce, then topped it off with the black beans, olives, grape tomatoes, and parmesan cheese.

Keep the salads upright in the fridge and when you are ready to dive in, shake it all up and pour it into your bowl.  I like to add avocado after that.  More fiber = good.  More avocado = delicious.

Some thoughts and tips:  If you used olive oil, sometimes the refrigeration causes it to solidify a bit.  All you should do if this happens is let it set out a bit and it will liquify again.  Also be forewarned that sometimes the smell is pretty strong when you open the mason jar up for the first time.  Don’t worry, it’s still good to eat.  I’ve checked.

Save time and eat healthy thanks to these babies!

Until next time.

Elesha, a skinnyfat girl

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. NANCY

     /  February 22, 2012

    BRILLANT! You ladies are amazing on here love you all!

    Reply
  2. Oh the things you can do with a mason jar! I love this… very cute idea and fabulous way to transport a healthy meal or snack.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

